Now that the food coma of Thanksgiving has worn off and you spent all of your money shopping on Black Friday, it is time to get back to the grind of school work…..

I’m just playing we all know we aren’t going to write all those papers we have due this week! So now its time to focus on important things like the holiday season! I have complied a list of my favorite holiday films that you can watch instead of facing reality!

  1. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (live action)

giphy

This one is a classic and one of my all time favorites! Jim Carrey is hilarious and it really just puts you in the holiday spirit

     2.  Elf

giphy.gif

I feel like this one is a given! You can quote this movie all year-long and no one will ever make a comment because that would make them a cotton-headed-ninny-muggins!

    3. Christmas Vacation

giphy

I have to put this one on the list because it is my dad’s favorite! The Christmas season is not complete without a viewing of this one. A hysterical holiday film that actually makes our family gatherings normal!

     4. Nightmare Before Christmas

giphy.gif

What is better than a Halloween movie that doubles as a Christmas movie! I’ve loved this movie since I was a kid and I think that Jack’s wonder and passion for Christmas is something we can all relate to.

      5. A Christmas Story 

giphy.gif

This one is my uncle’s favorite Christmas movie and another one we watch every year! I certainly learned not to put my tongue on an icy pole and I feel the pain of the little brother bundled to nearly oblivion as his mother sends him outside!

      6. The Santa Clause 

giphy.gif

This is one of those Christmas movies that just gives you the warm and fuzzies. It’s all about family and remembering what is important during the season. We can never take what we have for granted…..but we probably could have done without the third installment of the series.

7. Polar Express 

giphy.gif

A holiday classic turned into a film was the greatest thing to ever happen to my childhood! I used to go on the Polar Express in my  hometown as a kid and meet Santa. My dad and I still read the book every year on Christmas Eve and we ring the bell to welcome in the first gift of Christmas.

         8. Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer

giphy.gif

If the song isn’t enough to get you into the spirit, the movie definitely will. This is one of the most known tales of the Christmas season and it reminds me of settling down with a cup of hot coco and watching tv specials with the family.

9. The Year without a Santa Claus

giphy

For a Christmas movie, the characters are extremely dynamic and the animation is so old but so good. I can’t help but sing a long to the heat miser/ snow miser songs!

10. Santa Claus is Coming to Town

giphy

While this isn’t my favorite holiday tv special, it is one of the few that tell the tale of how Santa came to be Santa. And yes I sing a long to this one too!

I hope that at least one of these movies gets you into the holiday groove and I wish a Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to all of you!

Leave a Reply

